Finding Balance: Chakras and Essential Oils

What are the chakras?

Chakras are the wheel-like energy centers found in the midline points of your body. They transmit light in a vortex-like spinning motion.

There are 7 chakras that run from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. They are connected to the auric layers that surround the body. Sometimes they become imbalanced, causing you to experience moodiness and irritability. When this happens, you need to rebalance the chakras. It is possible to do so by applying essential oils.

What does it mean to have your chakras balanced?

You want your chakras to be open and spinning in a clockwise direction. Keeping them open and balanced allows them to be healthy, and they happen to influence and are connected to everything in your body.

Chakras, on a physical level, are associated with your organs, glands and body systems.

On the emotional and mental levels, they are associated with choice, willpower, consciousness, and rational thinking.

On a spiritual level, they have to do with creating and maintaining faith, intuition, understanding truth, creativity, etc.

It’s interesting how the chakras stack up with Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.


Everything is energy. Look at Einstein’s theory of relativity E=MC2.

Energy travels the human body in 12 specific energy pathways known as MERIDIANS (or organ flows).

It is along these 12 pathways that you will find acupressure points that correlate with certain regions of the body.

To understand balancing the chakras, we must first understand chakra energy.

Excess chakra energy can create overworked organs and overheated emotions while deficient chakra energy can create deficient organs and dulled emotions. These imbalances are caused by stress, fatigue, confusion, guilt, buried emotions, spiritual detachment, low self-esteem, lack of exercise and sleep, overuse of electronic devices, EMF, toxic exposure, and/or consuming unhealthy food and water.

If you feel irritated, grumpy or upset for no reason, it’s possible that your chakras are imbalanced.

It only takes a short time to get them open and spinning correctly again. Rebalancing is an excellent practice to put into your daily self-care routine. You can use essential oils to bring in positive energy and release the negative energy. I like to say a positive affirmation such as “I am safe” and then deeply inhale the aroma. When you use high-quality essential oils, they will have a very high vibrational frequency which will also help bring your body into balance.


Use this guide to learn about each chakra, its associations and the oils you can use to rebalance. Begin at your root. You must have your root chakra balanced to fully balance all of your others.

The Root Chakra is the color red and located at the base of your spine. You can strengthen your root chakra with essential oils by placing the oils on the bottom of your feet.

Associated with your root chakra: survival, self-preservation, physical self, life force, being grounded, material security, trust, family.

Element: Earth.

Essential Oils: Grounding Blend, Basil, Cedarwood, Frankincense, Myrrh, Patchouli, Vetiver

Apply a blend to your feet for the root chakra and state a positive affirmation:

“I am safe.”

The Sacral Chakra is the color orange and I located between the between the base of the spine and the navel.

Love and compassion, creativity, emotions, abundance, sexuality, empathy, well-being, connection, enthusiasm.

Element: Water

Essential Oils: Bergamot, Cinnamon, Juniper Berry, Melaleuca, Patchouli, Orange, Ylang Ylang.

Apply essential oils to the chakra with a positive affirmation:

“I feel free to express my creativity.”

The Solar Plexus is the color yellow and located 2-3 inches above the navel.

Self-esteem, gut instinct, personal boundaries, ego, willpower, personal-identify, inner harmony, personal power.

Element: Fire

Essential Oils: Coriander, Cypress, Cedarwood, Ginger, Lime, Oregano, Peppermint.

Apply to your chakra and state a positive affirmation:

“I feel entitled to my own feelings about things even though they may not be the same as yours.”

The Heart Chakra is the color green and is located in the low-center of the chest.

Love, self-love, universal love, compassion, open-heart, balanced emotions, peace and harmony, unconditional love, compassion, sincerity, connection to nature

Element: Air

Essential Oils: Joyful Blend, Monthly Blend, Lemon, Geranium, Melaleuca, Peppermint, Thyme

Apply to heart chakras and state positive affirmation such as:

“I love myself and others unconditionally.”

The Throat Chakra is the color blue and is located within the throat.

Communication, self-expression, truth, inner voice, integrity

Element: Ether

Essential Oils: Basil, Black Pepper, Cilantro, Cypress, Ginger, Frankincense, Eucalyptus, Lavender

Third Eye Chakra is Indigo and located between the eyes above the brow bone.

Spiritual, insight, knowing, wisdom, sight, intuition, imagination, manifestation

Element: Light

Essential Oils: Melissa, Frankincense, Helichrysum, Anti-Aging Blend, Rosemary, Sandalwood, Lemon, Clary Sage, Lemongrass, Juniper Berry

Apply to chakra and state positive affirmation such as:

“I am in synch with my intuition and know my path and my gifts.”

The Crown Chakra is violet and located at the top of the head.

Spiritual, deep self-knowing, understanding, acceptance, intelligence, divine wisdom and connection,

Element: Thought

Essential Oils: Anti-Aging Blend, Cleansing Blend, Frankincense, Melissa, Roman ChamomileSandalwood, Wintergreen, Detoxification Blend

Apply to chakra and state positive affirmation such as:

“I am connected to the divine and feel at peace.”

Pulling this all together

When applying essential oils to balance your chakras, start at the root chakra and work your way up to the crown chakra. Be intentional and when applying the essential oils, and do so in a clockwise fashion.

Chakra Meditation 

  1. Find a quiet space where you can sit down.
  2. Crossing your legs will increase blood flow to the body.
  3. Take some deep cleansing breaths to clear your mind and body.
  4. Apply one of the corresponding essential oils to each chakra, starting at the root chakra and ending up at the crown.
  5. Apply the oils in a clockwise motion while repeating the positive affirmation you have chosen.
  6. Visualize the color of the corresponding chakra and it spinning clockwise. You can also physically move your hand clockwise above the corresponding chakra.
  7. Repeat the corresponding positive affirmation a few times on each chakra.
  8. Once you have gone through all the chakras, take a few minutes to clear your mind and meditate.

There is also an aromatic “touch” application of essential oils that is wonderful on balancing the body, mind, spirit. Using a few different essential oils and applying them up the spine.  I am certified in this technique. Feel free to contact me to learn more.

Shop for my trusted brand of essential oils here.

* These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. Products discussed are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease.

*Chakra Wellness Made Simple by Connie Boucher

*Chakra Care – Do~It~Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life by Nancy Hausauer



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s